How I owed my parents dinner…

Owning my parents dinner turned me and my kitchen into chaos. Whoopsie…

Before getting into the the cooking part maybe I should explain why I owed my parents dinner in the first place.

So, long story short:

I was driving to Holland. I felt tired. Stopped at a truck stop. Closed my eyes for 3 seconds. Woke up 3 hours later. Car wouldn’t turn on. Nobody was around. Had to call professional help. Paid 250,- Euros for a 3 minute repair. 

Now my loving father offered to pay for my stupidity (yes, you guessed correctly – I left the lights on) but as a form of repayment he wanted me to invite him & Mum (and my sister since she lives with my parents at the moment) over for dinner into a perfectly tidy flat. 

Couldn’t get a better deal than that so I accepted and that’s how my first food-related blog post came into existence.

  1. pea soup with sausages
  2. meatballs stuffed with mozzarella in köttbullar sauce
  3. oven baked vegetables with feta cheese and bacon
  4. boiled eggs filled with guacamole
  5. scooped mashed potato with pesto and goat cheese
  6. frozen banana with coconut flakes, yogurt and chocolate chips <-> dessert

2016-10-30-20-59-14

As you can tell, this doesn’t exactly follow the typical “entree – main course – dessert” code but I never really cared for traditions and proper procedures.

In the wonderful words of Barbossa from Pirates of the Caribbean:

And thirdly, the code is more what you’d call “guidelines” than actual rules.

When I started cooking yesterday, I got all excited, I thought about what a wonderful blog post this would make. How I’d take lovely photos and post the recipes and so on… I thought some of the food blogs I check out to get some inspiration and create something magnificent.

Well. That didn’t happen…

I think it’s because I was partially very stressed out because I had a major headache , and got grumpier by the minute that the food didn’t turn out as perfect as I wanted it to.

Now don’t get me wrong, it all tasted nice, but it just wasn’t what I wanted.

I wanted a beautifully arranged buffet. I wanted perfect dishes. I wanted relaxed atmosphere. I wanted this and that and more…

Looking back I know why it didn’t go as planned:

2016-10-30-22-09-16

I get extremely anxious when I cook for others. I tend to act very grumpily minutes before everyone tastes my food to cover up my shaking hands and nerves. Instead of going for one, max. two dishes and concentrate on them I did six to impress and even though they tasted lovely – I wasn’t satisfied with what I cooked. I completely forgot to take pictures of the cooking process so I have no material for a lovely looking, well organized blog post

The lesson I learned?

2016-10-30-22-32-58

I should start by cooking single dishes and try to do those really well. I should be completely prepared with my camera next to the hob. I should cook for me and myself only so I don’t go crazy and lose myself in a paranoia filled storm of self doubt and nervousness.

And most importantly I should NOT look at this as a performance to be rendered but an experience to be lived.

So my darlings,

I apologize for this rather unusual food post but I needed to get this off my chest.


HAPPY HALLOWEEN


Lots of love, Ju xx

Leave a Reply

